Beer ‘N Bird Chili Recipe

IMG_0502

I like most foods, but I was never a huge fan of chili. I’ve never been a big fan of beans and I wasn’t into real spicy food either…that was until I married Andy.  I learned quickly that the ways to my husband’s heart involved: soup and chili.

I found a write- in recipe in Southern Living a couple years ago.  I’ve since changed a few things and this has become a fall and winter staple in our house.  The dark beer (don’t use light) really gives this chili a wonderful rich flavor.  This will feed us for 3 days, but I normally freeze part of it for a day I don’t feel like cooking.

Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook Time: 2 hours

Beer ‘N Bird Chili

Ingredients:

2 pounds ground Turkey

4 garlic cloves, minced

1 onion, chopped

2 Tablespoons, Chili powder

2 teaspoons, Cumin

1/2-1 teaspoon, ground red pepper

1 teaspoon Paprika

2 small cans  of Tomato Paste

1 bottle of Dark Beer (don’t use light)

1 can Beef Broth

3 small cans of Tomato Sauce

1 small can of Chopped Green Chiles, don’t drain

2 cans Pinto Beans, rinsed in a colander

1-1.5 Tablespoons of Worcestershire

Directions:

Cook first 3 ingredients in a pot over medium heat for about 8 or more minutes, break apart meat. Add chili powder and next 3 ingredients, cook about 1 minute. Add cans of tomato paste, cook about 1 minute. Add all other ingredients, bring to a boil then reduce heat and simmer 2 hours, stir occasionally. Serve with Mrs. Bonnie’s Easy Cornbread.

Chili will look like this

:IMG_0577

You can freeze whatever you have left and serve over a baked potato, yum:

IMG_0578

Leave a Reply

